Eggplant dip

IMG_3499

Don’t you agree that eggplant dip sounds way more delicious than baba ganoush? Or maybe it’s just me, not being used to the word and having this unrealistic image of an amazing, extremely delicious eggplant dip in my head that won’t go away. I remember the moment that is related to this image very well. Me and my two sisters were in Budapest for a city trip. Enjoying life, discovering the city, spending time together.. It was so nice to be there with them. One night, we went to this trendy, bohemian style restaurant that my sister was told about to have diner. We ordered the eggplant dip as a starter, since we had already had a delicious dip another day and we were told that that was the name for it. And we were amazed. So smooth, so rich in flavour, so incredible delicious. We ate it with naan bread. What. a. combination. Trust me. (Why don’t I have that with this dip right now!?) However, that moment, the deliciousness of an eggplant dip – Budapest style apparently – settled itself in my mind to never disappear again. So maybe, just maybe, that is why I prefer eggplant dip?

Okay, I have a confession to make.. How I loved the eggplant dip and have tried to explain this to you in the text above, the main meal.. Oh. I have never tasted a curry as delicious as the curry in that restaurant. It was AMAZING. Indescribable.
I wish I knew the ingredients, I wish I knew how to make it, but all I have is this memory of an unbelievable delicious curry. All I can do is cherish that memory for the rest of my life. Although I secretly hope to go back some day and have it again and discover the recipe. For now, this delicious creamy eggplant dip.

IMG_3615

Eggplant dip
Yield: quite a lot, about 3 cups.

4 small eggplants
1 lemon, juice and zest
6 tbs tahini
2 cloves garlic
freshly ground pepper
pinch of salt
2 tbs olive oil
1 tbs cumin seeds
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 200 C. Place your eggplants on a baking tray, prick a few holes in the skin with a fork and roast them for about 45-60 minutes. Turning halfway. When you take them out of the oven, they need to be soft.
If you prefer, you can hollow out the eggplants by now, so you don’t eat the skin. I decided to let the skin on for some texture and colour. Place your eggplants or the flesh in a food processor and blend this up to your preferred consistency. Add all the remaining ingredients and blend again until everything is combined.
Serve in a bowl with some naan bread.

Enjoy!

