Calzone

calz2So here it is! The recipe I told you about in my previous post. Also made with my little sister, with so much love, you could really taste that! I mean it (: So, with that, that it was delicious, no doubt, but  it came out of the oven like such a beauty that we were both speechless for a moment. And then, jumping around in my room, smiling, high five-ing. Happy with what we had made. Taking photo’s, taking photo’s of each other and then finaly eating! Yay! We had made a pizza calzone once before, but this one was really nice. A thin crust, a lovely filling, juices coming out, an incredible smell.. Are your eyes closed? Imagine. Hmmm..

For the crust, I need you to know that we didn’t make it ourselves. We wanted to, but there was not enough time. I went to a local pizzaria and asked them for fresh made pizzadough. They made a  exception for me, and I was as happy as a kid. The rest of the grocery shopping I was walking with a -too- big smile on my face. But hey! That’s what I call good pizza dough! So light, thin, a nice crust and tastefull. It wasn’t a bad decision at all to buy it fresh made there. I hope I can do that more often, but then I first have to come and eat pizza there the man said. Not a bad deal, don’t you think?

calz3

We kept the filling quite authentic. Like most of the calzones. Mushrooms, ham, shallots, tomato puree, cheese and some fresh italian herbs. It is also so much fun making a pizza. Spreading the dough, rolling it out, struggling with it when transferring it. Because you can better place the dough on a baking sheet when you haven’t put your ingredients on top of it yet… yes.. indeed. We almost forgot that. But my sister is the best in rolling out pizza dough. With the rolling pin and then her hands. Some flour here, some flour there. And then there it is! A super flat and round piece of dough. Perfect and ready to decorate with the products. Then lifting the pizza a bit clumsy to our baking sheet together and finishing it. Both waiting impatiently until it is ready. And then, how shall I say it, euphoric feelings! What a team! And what a result! I love cooking and baking with her.

Pizza Calzone
yield: 1 big pizza calzone

Ingredients:
pizza dough for 2 people
tomato puree
600 gr wild mushrooms
200 gr ham cubes
2 small shallots
fresh italian herbs (basil, oregano, thyme)
150 gr old cheese, shredded

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 200 degrees. Roll out your pizza dough. Make sure you create a big, thin, round of dough. Place this onto your baking sheet.
In a saucepan, fry your onions with some olive oil. Add your wild mushrooms, some of the herbs and some salt and pepper. Then add your ham cubes and let this mixture cook for about 2 minutes, until the flavours are combined.
Spread out the tomato puree on your dough. Everything should be covered. Add a bit of the shredded cheese on one half of your dough, so that the filling will ‘stick’. Add your filling on that half of your dough. Add the rest of the cheese on top of this and gently put the other half of the dough over it. Make two little slices so that the air can escape. Finish with a gentle sprinkle of olive oil and italian herbs.
Place your pizza in the oven for half an hour or until the crust is crunchy and brown and the juices are coming out of the pizza.

Enjoy!

