Banana granola

Happy Valentines day! I hope you all have a day filled with love, kisses, hugs and cosiness inside? If not, I’m sending you virtual hugs all the way from my apartment in Amsterdam. Shall we take a look at the recipe?

IMG_3067

Finally! Finally! Homemade granola. I don’t know how many times I have been thinking about making my own granola, but I can tell you, many many times! However, I didn’t know what kind of granola I wanted to make. Since I love actually everything like nuts, seeds, berries, coconut things or other awesome ingredients I decided to just start somewhere and try out about at least 5 different ones. Yes, this means that there will be more granola soon here!

IMG_3092

So, NR 1, as you probably already have read, is a banana granola. With pumpkin seeds, almonds, a little bit of maple syrup, a little bit of coconut oil and oats of course. Crunchy but rich because of the banana.
The thing I hadn’t expected was the flavour of the almonds. They are amazing. They are crispy, have a deep and nutty(of course) taste and make you want to eat them without the rest of the granola (like secretly taking them out of the jar..).
And if I may give you one tip. Use baking paper.. I discovered we were out of it too late, and I used aluminium foil instead. It sticks.. And you can’t get everything off.. Okay, a lot.. And you don’t want that to happen!

Banana granola
Yield: 2-3 breakfast portions

Ingredients:
1,5 cups rolled oats
1/4 cup raw almonds
1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds
some sea salt
a drop of vanilla paste
1,5 tbs coconut oil
1,5 tbs maple syrup
1 big, ripe banana

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 180 C. Line a baking tray with baking paper and set this aside.
In a bowl, combine your oats, nuts and sea salt.
In another bowl, combine your vanilla paste, coconut oil, maple syrup and your banana. Use your hands or a fork to combine this very well.
Than combine those two together until everything is covered in your banana mixture.
Spread it out on your baking tray, as even as possible. Make sure your sides aren’t very thin, otherwise they will burn.
Bake it for about 20 minutes. Turn it 2 times (after 10 minutes and 15 minutes) with a wooden spoon to create crispness on all sides.

Enjoy!

